My Date with a Pumpkin

Video courtesy of Blame Society Films Youtube

It is October.  Large orange pumpkins can be seen on many a dimly lit doorstep hiding from devious children whose desire is to smash them on cold hard pavement and scream with pleasure at their great success.  Grown in summer fields for our autumn delight.  Carved with ghoulish faces, baked into delectable pies, cakes, muffins and the sort.  It is October.  The season of the pumpkin is upon us.

Yesterday I happened to stop into the local coffee shop.  Coffee Bean Connection.  Friendly place.  Great coffee and food.  I was intent on satiating my pumpkin latte craving.  Yes, I am one of those people that take delight in things pumpkin.  I like pumpkin muffins and pumpkin in my stir fry.  I freeze pumpkin so I can have it early spring when the snow melts.  So pumpkin latte is not anything out of the ordinary.  As  sip on my latte and the caffeine travels through my brain waking long forgotten synapses, I decide that it is time to try my hand at baking a vegan pumpkin cheesecake.  Pumpkin cheesecake would be a good fit.  The heavy flavors of the pumpkin would enhance the taste of the vegan cream cheese and tofu.  So tonight I would bake.  I would have my date with a pumpkin.

Pumpkin Night 2

Being a pastry chef I learned long ago that the best baked goods are made from real dairy and eggs.  They do not contain artificial sugars.  Yet, my non-vegan half wanted cheesecake…my vegan half said not.  I decided on a compromise (unlike the current government).   I would use vegan cream cheese and tofu, also cornstarch instead of eggs.  A good cheesecake would be pumpkin if I was going to be successful.  The flavors of the pumpkin would have to be complimentary to the vegan cream cheese.   The cinnamon, ginger and clove should not overwhelm the pallet.  The hint of cream cheese should still come through the flavors of pumpkin and spice.  This is the vegan version that I created.

Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake

Crust:
1 cup ground roasted pecans
1 cup ginger cookies ground
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 cup white sugar

16 oz Tofutti Non-Hygrogenated Oil Vegan Cream Cheese
16 oz soft tofu
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup fresh pumpkin puree (dewatered), you can use canned if you prefer.
3 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp grated ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves
3 tbsp cornstarch

Mix the ground pecan, gingersnap cookies, vegetable oil and 1/4 cup sugar. Pat into the bottom of a 10 inch springform pan.  Set aside.  In a Kitchenaid type mixer cream the tofu, Tofutti cream cheese, corn starch, half cup sugar, and half cup brown sugar until smooth.  Add the pumpkin and spices. mix until just incorporated. Pour on top of the crust in the springform pan.  Wrap the bottom and side of the pan with a single sheet of tin foil.   This must be waterproof as the pan will be in water and it will leak and give you a soggy crust if there are more than a single sheet of foil.  Place this into a large pan filled with one inch of water. Put into a 325 preheated oven.  Bake for one hour.  When the hour is up turn off the oven and crack the door.  Let the cheesecake cool in the oven for one hour.  Remove the cheesecake and refrigerate overnight.  I like to serve this with maple encrusted pecans.

The cheesecake was delicious.  It was just enough spice and the vegan cream cheese provided just enough richness to the dessert.  I hope that you to will find your date with a pumpkin tonight.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

